Skip to content

Oh Hullo

July 27, 2010

Obviously, I lost interest in the blog for a long while.  I realized that the novel needed a bigger emotional investment than I was willing to make.  Also I just didn’t have the focus to write for pleasure.  Last week I broke my wrist, which has certainly slowed me down, temporarily halting my golf lessons among other things, and I’ve been idle while waiting for work to get funded, so I’ve had time to think about “what comes next.”  I’ve made peace with the fact that I’m not That Guy, the Great Man who wrestles with the Human Condition and pretzels it into Luminous Prose.  In the mean time, I’ve dug up an old novel that I abandoned after some initial excitement in the world of publishing cooled.  Several years later, “Dark fantasy” with vampire overtones seems to be the thing these days, so I thought I would post the existing chapters here as is, put up a “Hey Reddit,” and see what happens.  You could read it as an allegory about vampires, power, fascism, addiction, etc.  Hopefully all of the above.  I know it’s wishful thinking to hope to be “discovered” rather than doing all the self-promotion really required these days to be noticed, but for now it’s what I can do, and it’s certainly better than the nothing I’ve been doing the last four months.  Hope you like it, and please email me or leave a comment if you do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 7:26 am

    Writer and redditor popping in, nice to see your work up here. I’ll give your opening chapter a read sometime soon, keep up the writing!

    • ooutland permalink*
      July 27, 2010 7:29 am

      Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate knowing that someone’s checked out the post so quickly!

Leave a Reply

