Skip to content

Weekend Wrapup

February 13, 2011

Busy with work, and school, and I just don’t have the time to scan the net for content; hardly even enough time to glance at Reddit – well, I would have the time if I didn’t want to read books or watch movies in the evenings when I’m home, or indulge in my fantasies of winning on Who Wants to be a Millionaire, now that my Jeopardy! ambitions are firmly entombed (I passed the test three times and never got called to be on the show, so I guess I’m just not the type of person they’re looking for).  I’m also trying to go to bed a little later, now that the days are longer, so I’m not up so damn early in the morning (when I would do my blogging, when I had many hours to kill before work). 

I’ve got a test in my art history class tomorrow night, and so I’m devoting more time to studying, since for some perverse compulsive reason, I really want to get an A in this class – no more ardent believer than the convert, they say, and now that I’m in uni-bloody-versity darling I suppose I’m that guy.  I’m so far away in terms of time and energy and (more and more these days as tuition hikes and funding decreases remake universities into Gentleman’s Clubs once again) money from even thinking about a degree.

If I have time this week, I do want to address an article in the Times this morning, another story about how Google’s search algorithm isn’t always and forever the “elegant solution” to everything that engineers aspire to – but would be if only dirty messy humans would stop gaming the math.  It’s always interesting to me to see how even Google’s math skills are no match for the “soft” world – how the Matrix will always need hand-correcting.

Of course, I’ll also have to make time for dissecting three nights of Jeopardy! episodes, after Godzilla, Mothra and Rodan battle it out over the next three nights.  Not that I get any traffic on my AI posts – the only web searches that turn me up are related to my art postings, especially since there aren’t a whole lot of other content sources on Bronzino or Gilles’ Ruhrkampf, for example.  But despite abandoning the AI novel (barring any editors or patrons out there who would like to extend a hand or an offer), it’s still a fascinating subject for me.  As far as “art content” for the blog, I’ve got my next NYC trip planned for May, even though I owe the IRS about a trillion dollars for 2010 – I’ve got to have something to look forward to, after all, and just going to work and coming home for the rest of my life to stay solvent sounds…well, perfectly awful.  With great glee, I’ve started my new “to do” list for the trip, starting with the Picasso’s Guitars exhibit at MOMA.  (Made possible by A Generous Grant from Your Foundation, perhaps?)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

