Skip to content

Back to the Future

November 5, 2012

So I’ve been idle on “Less Than,” but not idle.  I’ve started reprinting my old out of print books on Amazon Kindle Direct, starting with “Death Wore a Smart Little Outfit.”  (If you can visit the page, click the “Like” button, agree with the tags and, if you’ve read the book, please leave a good review, it would mean the world to me.)

Let me tell you, never delete anything ever.  I wrote the “Death Wore” books fifteen years ago, and deleted the electronic manuscripts (or failed to copy them from an old computer to the new, same difference) – after all, why ever, I thought in the late 90s/early aughts, would I ever need them again?  The books were published, set in stone, and there you go.  I’ve been in touch with Alyson to see if my books with them are out of print as well – at least I still have, for some reason, the OpenOffice files for “A Serious Person,” so that would be a lark to repub if I have the rights.

As a consequence of that shortsightedness, I’ve had to scan my personal copies of the books using OCR, and then go through the time-consuming process of undoing all the OCR errors.  I could have it done by a service, but that would cost me, and the whole point of this exercise is to get some revenue coming in from my writing, and paying for new covers already has me in the minus department.  Still, I’m getting the hang of it – lots of search and replace to minimize repetitive stress injuries .  I.E., replace all instances of two spaces with one, thanks to where the line breaks you removed in the OCR software add one, then replace a period and a space with a period and two spaces; replace .” with .”^p to get paragraph breaks back in – most of them, that way, since it’s tremendously dialogue-driven so putting them in after quotation marks does the lion’s share of the work.

I’m also doing NaNoWriMo with an eye to having an “Episode 1” of my dark fantasy novel done and publishable on Kindle by the end of the month.  This would be a serial novel, mostly because the idea is to write enough of it to see if I can get it to sell, but not to spend any more time than necessary on something that won’t sell.  It’s all about the Benjamins, now, kids – the money clock is running out on me again and I’m looking at every writing opportunity that will keep the wolf from the door.  So Alex and Caroline and company are on hold because I’ve got to get these other (potentially) more lucrative things done first. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

