Skip to content

The Great Awakening

May 16, 2013

Well hello there.  So after four months on the job, I am about ready to restart/finish LTP.  There are a combination of factors in play – first, I’m settled in at work, and as of now it looks like I’ll be there for a while.  So I no longer have all the new job stress factors, and, I don’t have to worry about the may-end-soon job stress factors. 

Also, I found a tool I plan to use to get the story right.  I was “pantsing” it right up to the day in January that I simultaneously lost my way in the plot, and had to start a F/T job.  I had no idea how I was going to end it; the whole thing was getting away from me.  “Then,” as they say on the infomercials, “I discovered this amazing PPT” just last week.

I think I was so lost in the idea of a Serious Novel that I forgot that a novel is a novel is a novel, and unless it’s a navel gazing exercise in “luminous prose,” it needs a structure.  So I plan to use this tool to reframe the story.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with the whole “find the others” subplot.  Alex has to “die,” and give Caroline a mission, and she has to fulfill it.  But I was going off into a direction that didn’t flow, with her and Nick just finding tester after tester, each of them set up like a boring Pilgrim’s Progress of One Important Lesson After Another. 

I’m off to NYC next week and I’m taking LTP with me, and the “Matrix matrix” linked above.  I know, that doesn’t sound like vacation, but NY inspires me creatively, and I’ve got to the point where I’ve seen all the sights, so it’s more fun for me to be a resident for a few days than to feel like I’ve got to pack every minute with tourism.  Last May I sat in Washington Square Park and blocked out a ton of content, and had the time of my life.  Now I want to see the end of this.  I know it’s probably going to sell zero copies, like “Lion and the Scorpion” and “Dark O’Clock” almost literally did (as in, less than ten copies apiece) because without pompom shaking, nothing sells more than zero.  So be it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

