Skip to content

Finished. And…Published.

June 16, 2013

Up at Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/326804

And Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DFJ7DTY

BN.com to come and iStore, well, eventually.  Draft2Digital is a great resource for getting to Apple, but Apple does drag their feet about putting stuff up from 3rd party platforms.

I don’t know what I should feel, but I know what I do feel.  Not much, at the moment.  Glad it’s done.  Now comes the gnawing anxiety over whether or not it’ll fly.  Trust me, after all these books, I know my internal script – the well-rehearsed Fresh Air interview, the pithy one liners for my 92nd Street Y lecture, the plans for my new life in Richistan, etc. etc.  Followed by the dim dull realization that nope.  Not this time either. 

But, the good news is, the failure of “Lion” and “Dark” have inoculated me to some degree.  Yeah, I’ll still spend a few days compulsively checking sales figures (one already on Smashwords!  So not a total failure) before moving on.

Because that’s what finishing is really about at this point – moving on, putting this one to bed so that I can start something else without feeling that Monolith behind me, saying, “but you haven’t finished ME yet, you giver-upper, you non-finisher!”

Is it a great book? No.  Is it a good book? Yep.  Is it a finished book?  HEEAALLL YEAH.  After 4.5 years, done doney McDoneington. 

No comments yet

Leave a comment